The Dream

20170204_135942.jpgHere I stood, with the mike in front of me and an orchestra, or at least what looked like one, playing soft music, which sounded like fingernails being scraped on a blackboard.

“Silence!” shrieked a cold voice. The orchestra stopped, and an eerie silence penetrated through the hall. “The chair recognizes Ophelia Dupree, reason for trial,” it continued. A pale woman dressed very simply stood up and faced me. “Only when you admit the seriousness of the offence you committed that drove you into the realms of hell will you be forgiven. Your rights are on the paper in front of you, and anything you say can be used against you.”

I had nothing to say. “I’m sorry, from what you said, I gather you all believe me dead?” I asked. “Of course you are dead,” she said impatiently. “Please answer the questions accurately, our court scribe is waiting.” I was utterly perplexed. One minute I had been making pancakes for my daughter and the next minute I was being tried for some offence. I didn’t know what to do, so I ran out of the dungeon as quickly as I could.

20170204_135954.jpgI hurtled through the hallways till I came to a dead end. I leant against the wall to catch my breath. Suddenly, the wall gave way and I began FALLING…

FALLING…

FALLING…

And then I woke up, sweating. The same nightmare had recurred for two continuous weeks. I rang up “Dr. Dements – Your Dream Analyst”, a new clinic nearby.

At three sharp, I was waiting in his office, when he finally entered. I told him the problem, and he smiled. “There is an easy solution to your problem,” he chuckled. “Although you might not believe me at first, it is the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth I am speaking.”

I am a skeptic and a rationalist and I didn’t I believe what Dr. Dements had to say. I was one of the few people in the world descended from cats, not monkeys. I had nine lives instead of the usual one and in one of them I had killed Ophelia Dupree, a rich doctor.

“Let me tell you a little about myself,” said Doctor Dements. “I used to have a beautiful wife. I’m not going to tell you her name, but she was a doctor, just like me. One day, there was a break-in at our clinic, and she was brutally murdered. The murderer was killed as well, and her body was right next to Ophelia’s. Due to this, she was never brought to justice.” I could not see where this was heading.

“Do you not get it?” he snarled, taking out a knife. “I am Dements Dupree, and I am going to avenge my wife’s murder. For years I have been waiting for such an opportunity, and my time has come. Say goodbye ……. Murderer!!!!”

Leave a Reply

